1 Corinthians 9:24 – Training for the Race of Life

1 Corinthians 9:24 Training (B)log

Day 1 – November 15, 2010
Commitment – Today I made a commitment that hopefully with God’s help will end in me running a marathon in Knoxville in April of 2011. That is the goal, and as I thought about that I realized just how much we need goals in life. Goals not only in our exercise plans or whatever but spiritual goals as well. Everyday our goal should be that we are in the process of becoming more and more like Jesus. Is that easy to do? No way. In fact for us it is humanly impossible. I have heard many people who have run a lot more than me talk about hitting the wall. When you just absolutely feel like you can’t go on, when your energy, your strength is zapped and gone.
I’ve experienced it once. I was toward the end of a 9 mile run, when all of a sudden I got an exhilarating burst of energy. I have no idea where it came from but because of it I took off running extremely hard. It was great. The problem was it only lasted about a minute, after that my energy levels returned to normal for a brief period of time and then I just simply crashed. It was at that point that I was at a crossroads, what was I going to do? Quit or persevere. I persevered even though it took most of the willpower that I had and at that point my “run” became more of a walk.
We go through similar things in our “walk with Jesus” or our “race of life” don’t we? There are times when we follow Him quickly and gladly. When it seems effortless and almost easy. And there are times when we don’t feel like it when our flesh screams for its own way. It is then that we must rely on that one word – COMMITMENT. Our commitment to Jesus has to lead us to stay true to Him, to follow Him, to be faithful to Him, even when its hard, even when we don’t “feel like it”, even when everyone else is doing there own thing.
It is then that we must wait upon the Lord. After all when we do we have His promise, “those that wait upon the Lord will renew their strength, they will mount up on wings as eagles, they will RUN and not grow weary, they will walk and not faint.”
Praise be to God for His commitment to us, now may we be committed to Him.

Day 2 – November 16, 2010
Temptation – Last night I received a message from one of my running partners, “6 am the track at Boone: Rain or shine.” My response – “if it isn’t raining too hard I’ll be there.”
5:15 am this morning – I looked at my clock and thought it’s bound to be raining hard outside, it would be good just to sleep for a few minutes. I had woken up once during the night and heard the rain coming down like cats and dogs (I think I even heard a meow and a bark). So at 5:15 I said sleep is good, I’ll try to hit the treadmill later. I got quiet, settled in, and was ready to drift away……until I realized I didn’t hear any rain outside. I listened harder. Nothing. I hoped for rain. Still nothing. I even almost prayed for rain, but didn’t. And then I had a decision to make – get up and go, follow through with my commitment. Or roll over and smile. Temptation. I thought to myself, “they’ll understand if I’m not there. After all its was supposed to rain.” Conviction.
Ultimately with God’s help I got up and went, and I’m glad I did. But as I drove to the track I couldn’t help but think, don’t we face similar situations everyday as we walk with Jesus. The temptation to give in and do what we want. What may be comfortable (there is pleasure in sin for a season). The temptation to do our own thing.
Jesus faced temptation too didn’t He? And He always triumphed over it. How through the power of God and the word of God. He was always victorious and He says to us that “we can be more than conquerors” How? Through Him that loved us. So as we run this race of life, let us hold onto Him who loves us, the author and finisher of our faith, Jesus Christ. Let us hold to Him in good times, in bad times, in in between times, and in times of temptation. Because He will get us through.

One thought on “1 Corinthians 9:24 – Training for the Race of Life

Leave a Reply

