Training for the Race of Life……Day 31 (Adjustment)

Training for the Race of Life……Day 31 (Adjustment)
Someone said over the past few days that old man winter is wreaking havoc on our area, and while I certainly agree in reality it is still fall. But no matter what the calendar actually says winter appears to be settling in for a while. This has of course forced me to adjust my training schedule at least a little bit. This mornings temperature when I woke up was a balmy 1 degree according to the local news. One of my friends said it read 0 at their house. No matter, with it being that cold and with the snow still lying around (not to mention all of the salt and rock on the roads) I decided that if I was going to run today I really needed to find a treadmill to run on. In other words I needed to make an adjustment.
Because for safety reasons it was either adjust or don’t run at all. Yet I really wanted to run, so during lunchtime I found myself once again “adjusting” to the treadmill. (I have a feeling that we will get to be close friends over the next few weeks). I spent about an hour and got in a pretty decent run, this time choosing not to watch TV but just to be alone with some music and my thoughts. I actually find that these times can become a great time to talk to God and to listen to Him as well.
As I was running and talking and listening, it occurred to me that I had to make an adjustment to get on the treadmill and that in many ways life is about adjustments as well isn’t it? And in fact another word for adjustment is change. Most people don’t like the word change very much, and yet in reality change is a part of life. People change, circumstances change, our lives change. But there is one thing that remains constant and that is God. He is the same “yesterday, today, and forever”. He never changes, but sometimes He wants to change us because in reality there are probably some things in our lives that need to change.
David (a man after God’s own heart) realized this in the psalms as he cried out, “create in me a clean heart o God.” In other words change me! Transform me! Make me into something different. The psalmist cries this as well as he says, “Search me and know me o God and see if there is anything in me that doesn’t need to be there, and lead me in the way everlasting” (Paraphrased a little). In other words God change me.
So the question becomes for you and for me – what does God need to change in your life? What do you need to allow God to transform? Maybe it’s a habit that doesn’t need to be there, maybe its worry, maybe its fear, maybe its unforgiveness. What do you need to cry out to God and say, “Lord change me, transform me, make me into something different.” Because here is the good news if that really is the cry of your heart He will change you, He will adjust you, He will transform you, and you will come out better because of it.
I got in a good run today because I adjusted. What do you need God to adjust and to transform so that your life can become more like He wants it to be? Be willing to change if necessary, for God’s glory.
Keep running with Jesus.

Leave a Reply

