Training for the Race of Life…..Day 51 (Cherishing)

Training for the Race of Life……Day 51
Today was a very busy day and because of that and the fact that I got in 14 miles yesterday I decided not to run. It was good to have some time to rest and recover, even though that is hard to do when you are on your feet a lot.
Normally on Tuesday night at church we have open gym for pick up basketball. Several guys come down and we always have a good time and some friendly competition. Tonight however I decided not to go simply because I knew that my feet were not going to allow me to play basketball on a concrete floor. Another friend however asked about playing ping pong on the other side of the gym and we agreed that it would be a good idea for some to be able to play. I made plans to go and to play ping pong and to be there for basketball so I could at least enjoy some fellowship with the guys.
My plans however got changed. As I was going out the door my oldest son who is 5 said, “please don’t go daddy stay with me.” And I had a decision to make. I had set up the ping pong, I had some good friends that I wanted to see at basketball, so what was I going to do. I thought to myself that’s just something passing when he starts playing his Nintendo DS he will forget about me and I’ll go for a few minutes and then come back and spend some time with him.
We were at the table in the dining room and I got up to go into the kitchen to get some water. He began to cry, “daddy, daddy, where are you going? Don’t leave! Please stay and play with me.” Decision time again. My wife gave some tremendous words of wisdom, “do whatever you want to do, but he probably won’t be like that forever.” (or something to that effect). The decision became easy. I was going to stay home and play with my boys. We wrestled, we colored, we played, we read. It was a great night. And one that I could have easily missed out on. Yet when she told me those words I was reminded of something that someone told me, “cherish every moment that you can.” So that night I did.
I am reminded that there is a God, who is our loving Heavenly Father, who desperately wants to spend time with us as well. He invites us over and over and over again to spend time with Him in His word. “Come boldly before His throne of grace,” “Cast all your cares upon Him,” “Come unto me all you who are weak and heavy laden”, “pray without ceasing”. In other words spend time with you heavenly Father. He loves you and wants to spend time with you.
And as much as my son wanted to spend time with me tonight, we need to desire spending time with our Father. The Psalmist says, “as the deer pants for streams of water, so my soul longs for you, o Lord.” We need to desire God. A friend of mine once told me that the highlight of his day was coming home from work and his 3 year old looking up at him and stretching out his arms in a “hold me daddy” gesture. That is how we need to be with God. Desperately wanting Him to hold us, desperately wanting to be in His presence. Loving Him with all of our heart, our mind, our soul and our strength. As the great songwriter, Rich Mullins put it, “Hold me Jesus, cause I’m shaking like a leaf, you have been King of my glory, now won’t you be my Prince of Peace.”
Keep running with Jesus and keep reaching out to Him, and letting Him hold you.

Leave a Reply

