Training for the Race of Life…..Day 52 (Interrupted)

Training for the Race of Life…..Day 52 (Interrupted)
Yet another cold and snowy day so once again I opted for a run on the treadmill. When I headed out the snow was just lightly falling, and when I arrived at the gym it was doing pretty much the same thing. A few minutes into my run however it really began to come down hard. I was hoping to get in 5 or 6 miles but I was also keeping an eye on the sky. The gym windows are tinted so I couldn’t fully see what was happening outside but I had a pretty good idea.
Then around minute 33 I got the confirmation, it was snowing fairly hard. My wife called to tell me that I might ought to get headed home because the road in front of our house was already snow covered. So I ran just a few more minutes and did just that. I didn’t have any problems at all going home, but a few minutes later when I headed out the door to church I did slide, but still got there and got home safely.
I couldn’t help but think however that life sometimes gets interrupted doesn’t it? I don’t mean life itself but the flow of life. The normal everyday routines of life sometimes they too just like my run get interrupted. Maybe its health issues, or relationship problems, or depression, or issues within your family, or whatever else, but sometimes as the commercial says, “life comes at your fast”, and when it does and something happens, your normal everyday routine, your life can get interrupted.
So the question is what do you do then? Well first you have to press on and not give up. You have to stay faithful to who you are and whose you are. You have to continue to trust God even then, when life gets “interrupted”. What else can you do? Simply fall to your knees and pray.
Our God is a great God of grace, who beckons to us, “come unto Me all you who are weak and heavy laden and I will give you rest.” Or who tells us to “come boldly before His throne of grace,” or who says, “cast all your cares on Me, for I care for you.” That’s grace.
I was talking one time to a man in his 80s (a great saint of God), and in the midst of the conversation he said something profound to me without even knowing how life changing it was: he said, “sometimes we say all we can do is pray….but why do we say that? That’s the best thing that we can do.” And he was right, it really is, when life gets interrupted, when it gets difficult, or when its just amazingly and beautifully normal, the best thing we can do is pray.
Keep being faithful and keep running with Jesus.

Leave a Reply

