Training for the Race of Life…..Day 75 (Choices)

Training for the Race of Life…..Day 75
I had every intention of running today, I really did. I figured since I have a race tomorrow I would get in a short run today, to get my weekly mileage up and to loosen me up for tomorrow. I normally run in the mornings on Friday but today I was unable to, so I figured I would run a little bit later on. I went and picked my son up from school and went to my parents house for a few minutes figuring I would get in a short (40 minutes or so) run in then, before I had to go get tires for my car.
As I headed out the door to go to the park to run, my oldest son said, “stay with me daddy, lets play.” About the third time he asked I decided that there are some things more important than running. So I didn’t run, and I didn’t regret it at all. I know I’ve said this before but family time is extremely important. Taking time for your children is extremely important.
Our children will experience several negative influences in their lives, and we need to try to be a positive influence for them. Yet even if we are good role models for them (with God’s help), and they never see us then we aren’t going to have to influence on them that we need too.
God blesses us with our families and our friends and we need to take time for them, regardless of what we have to “sacrifice” from time to time. It really wasn’t a sacrifice for me today, but if I would have went and ran and not spent time with my children, who knows what I really would have sacrificed. I would have been sacrificing that time that we had together and no run, no matter how great, would have been worth that.
Friday was a perfect day for running, but it was also a perfect day for spending time with my family. And I’m glad I chose the latter.
Keep running with Jesus and also spending time with those you love and that He has blessed your lives with. For the Bible says, “every good gift that we have in our lives is a gift from God.” So take time to celebrate those gifts.

Leave a Reply

