“You Can’t Really Know Jesus By Yourself”

Wrath to Riches

I recently came across this profound insight by Timothy Keller and C.S. Lewis:

“Community is the key to true spirituality as we grow to know God by learning to know one another in relationships. In a famous passage, C.S. Lewis describes a very close friendship between himself, Charles Williams, and Ronald Tolkien (better known as J.R.R. Tolkien). After Charles Williams died, Lewis made this observation:

“In each of my friends there is something that only some other friend can fully bring out. By myself I am not large enough to call the whole man into activity; I want other lights than my own to show all his facets. Now that Charles is dead, I shall never again see Ronald’s reaction to a specifically Caroline joke. Far from having more of Ronald, having him “to myself” now that Charles is away, I have less of Ronald. Hence true Friendship is the…

View original post 203 more words

Leave a Reply

