Major Beliefs Day 30- Blinded

Major Beliefs Day 30 Blinded ( 2 Corinthians 4)

2 Corinthians 4: 4 – “In their case the god of this world has blinded the minds of the unbelievers, to keep them from seeing the light of the Gospel of the glory of Christ, who is the image of God,”

I still remember my first trip to the beach.  I was absolutely amazed by the beauty and vastness of the ocean.  I also remember staring at the water for a long period of time and probably daydreaming as I looked at the brightness of the sun’s reflection as it seemed to bounce off the water.  Then I remember looking away and being temporarily blinded.  I could see nothing and it was a horrible feeling.  You can get the same effect in the winter time with the brightness of the sun bouncing off the whiteness of fresh snow. Regardless it is a terrible feeling to be blinded, even if its only temporarily.
Paul say’s that “the god of this world” (Satan) has blinded the mind of unbelievers to keep them from seeing the beauty and the glory of Jesus and what He did for us on the cross.  It is a horrible place to be and yet many who are in that place don’t even know it.  Blinded not by the the light but by a false light that keeps them from seeing what’s important.
So what does Satan use to blind people?
     * The allure of the world
     * Feelings of insignificance ( God could never love me)
     * Busyness
     * Materialism
     * Even their own goodness and accomplishments (I don’t need Jesus, I’m good enough on my own – It’s why Charles Spurgeon said “our good works can be lethal,” because they can keep us from Jesus)
     * Comparing ourselves with others ( I’m just as good as so and so or why should l follow Jesus, all those Christians are just hypocrites anyway.)
He uses those things to blind us to the truth-which is all of us are sinners in need of a Savior because the things and sins of this world cannot save us. 
So what is the cure for this blindness?  Simply put, just like when you are sun blind or snow blind, you have to look away.  You look away from those things and you look to Jesus.  It’s called repentance, and its why Jesus said in Mark 1:15 ” the kingdom of God has come near,  repent and believe the good news,”
We turn away from those things that blind us (repentance) and we turn to Jesus (faith).  Then our eyes are wonderfully opened and then we can joyfully shout with John Newton “Amazing Grace how sweet the sound that saved a wretch like me, I once was lost but now I’m found, was blind but Now I SEE”

Leave a Reply

