FORGETFUL?

Psalm 103:2 – “Bless the Lord, O my soul, and forget not all His benefits.”

“Honey, have you seen my keys?” I asked.

“No, I don’t use them.”

“I thought you had them yesterday, where did you put them?” I asked again, only to find them in a coat pocket a few minutes later. This scene or at least some version of it is repeated in my house about once a week, sometimes more. What does it tell me? It tells me that I am forgetful. And in reality you are too. We all are forgetful because people are forgetful.

That is why we celebrate birthdays and anniversaries, to remind ourselves of what a person or a relationship means to us. Why do we need to be reminded? Because if we aren’t careful we will forget.

No wonder David proclaims to himself “forget not all of God’s benefits.” People say talking to yourself means you are crazy, I would say talking to yourself and reminding yourself of the grace of God and the goodness of God will keep you from going crazy. Why did David need to be reminded? Because he was forgetful just like you and me. Human nature really hasn’t changed that much in the last 3000 years has it?

The question is what is it that makes us forgetful? When I forget where I put my keys or my glasses or whatever else, why do I forget? I think some of it may be busyness.n we are all rushed and hurried and so we don’t pay attention to things. So we need to slow down and take time to mediate on the benefits of God.

Maybe we are forgetful because we are focused on the wrong things. In that case we need to do as the writer of Hebrews exhorts us and “fix our eyes on Jesus.”

Moses gives us a surprising reason for our forgetfulness in Deuteronomy 6. He says in essence take care when things are going well and wonderful that you don’t forget the Lord. That doesn’t seem to make sense does it? You would think that when things were good that we would remember and be thankful. You would think that when things are wonderful that we would take time to thank God for His blessings and goodness. But sometimes the exact opposite happens. Sometimes when things are good and wonderful we think we have done it all, and we forget that “every good gift comes from God.” So we get prideful and forget how much we need Him daily.

We are a forgetful people, but we need to remember. We need to remember the goodness of God and the grace of God. We need to remember the faithfulness of God and the blessings of God. We need to remember the love of God. We need to remember the cross. “Bless the Lord O my soul, and forget not ALL of His benefits. To God be the glory!

Leave a Reply

