Is it Raining?

Psalm 37:23-24 – “The steps of a man are established by the Lord, when he delights in his way; though he fall, he shall not be cast headlong, for the Lord upholds his hand.”

This past Sunday morning, I was heading out the door to church and I heard a loud sound outside.  What is that I thought? It sounds like rain, but I had just checked the weather and there was only a 20% chance of rain that day and it said at 9am that chance was actually 0%.  I looked outside and sure enough we were receiving all 0% chance and more.  It was absolutely pouring down.  I thought to myself all of these computer weather programs and sophisticated radar, and all of that and it’s still hard to get the weather right.  They said 0% and we got 100%.  They said one thing and it did another.

That is a whole like the promises of the world in regards to sin.  It won’t hurt you.  No one will know.  It’s your life live it how you want.  No one can judge you, and on and on and on.  The problem with this is the world says one thing, but truth is something else entirely.  Sin does hurt you, sin does find you out.  It is your life, but you were created by God, and He died to redeem you, and one day we will all face judgment.  The world says one thing but truth is another.

I saw that very vividly last night.  A few weeks ago, some videos were released in which Planned Parenthood representatives are caught on video discussing the selling of the body parts of aborted children.  Because of these videos there has been an awakening about the horrors of abortion and the abortion industry.  So in at attempt to turn society’s favor back towards abortion, someone came up with a twitter campaign called #shoutyourabortion.  It is a way of telling the world that you had an abortion, that you are glad you did, and that you would do it again.  One lady wrote, “I’m glad I did it, I would do it again because my life, my desires, and my career matter more than a zygote or an embryo or a fetus.”  Talk about cold, and about glorifying selfishness.  I couldn’t believe what I was reading, in fact it was painful and disturbing.  She had bought into the lies of the world.  The world says this…….but truth is radically different.

Truth says that it really is a child.  I was adopted at 10 days old and I’m certainly thankful that I wasn’t aborted.  Truth says all sin is wrong, including my sins.  But then truth triumphantly says, there is a way to be forgiven of your sins, regardless of what they are.  That is what David says in Psalm 37, “though he fall”, in other words though  I sin and make mistakes (David, the author of Psalm 37 was responsible for murder and he committed adultery), God is faithful to forgive me of my sins.  I may fall, but “I will not be cast headlong.”  What David is saying is God will not condemn my to judgment and to hell.  Yes, sin has consequences, and yes we should stay away from sin (all sin),  but fortunately when we do sin, we have a God who loves us and forgives us when we cry out to Him.

The world says there is no such thing as sin, truth says “sin destroys.”  The world says, “there is no God and if there is He doesn’t care about your life.”  Truth says, “there is a God and He loves you so much that He went to the cross in your place.” The world says celebrate your sin, truth says run to Jesus and receive forgiveness for your sins, and then turn from those sins and let your “delight be in the way of God.”  For if you do God will transform you and uphold you with His hand.

The world may say its not raining, but truth says its going to rain.  Its either going to rain God’s wrath or God’s mercy,  which one will you choose?

Leave a Reply

